Australian Native Wreath

Christmas, its such an amazing time of the year catching up with your family and friends. The colours of Christmas are also just gorgeous especially Australian native plants and flowers. This has lead myself to create a simple native wreath featuring the Silver Dollar Eucalyptus and two frosted fire Protea’s. I got these from my local florist however was hard to find at first as they are so popular!

DSC07458

What you’ll need:

  • Silver Dollar Eucalyptus
  • Protea
  • Wire ring – the size if your preference
  • Sting
  • Hot glue gun – optional

DSC07432

What to do:

Create your wreath frame with the wire or you can purchase a pre made circular wire at your local craft shop.

I then started to tie the eucalyptus around the wreath slowly making my way from start to finish. I overlapped the branches to make it thicker.

DSC07435

DSC07437

DSC07440

I then made a large loop out of the string that will hang from a hook on the door

DSC07446

DSC07449

Now add the two Protea’s, I chose to place them in a X style along the bottom left of the wreath. I tied the string around the Protea’s individually and then used the hot glue gun to add strength to the ties.

DSC07452

DSC07455

DSC07476

And just like that your wreath is complete, this only took an hour or so, a perfect afternoon DIY.

DSC07482

DSC07461

DSC07473

DSC07470

I personally think this is a stunning and simple Christmas DIY Wreath that is a beautiful welcoming for your guests over the Christmas period.

I hope you get a chance to make this DIY wreath or one similar, as I loved creating this. Don’t forget to tag #CamelliaDesigns with your creations.

One thought on “Australian Native Wreath

Leave a comment